can you advise on a good book?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

gazmc2

Forager
Oct 5, 2008
Grantown-on-Spey
hi there,
i'm looking to get a good book on edible plants leaves etc. I have very little knowledge so a book with pictures for visual reference would be ideal. Also it would need to be relevat to scotland/britain.

There are so many to choose from!!

Thanks in advance!

Aug 27, 2006
Kent
In my experience there'll never be just one! (I have something in the region of 60 & counting). On the other hand, something you can slip into a pocket while you're out and about is useful. Collins Gem editions are quite good for portability & quick reference - there is a 'Food For Free' version and individual titles for fungi, trees, flowers etc.

What you'll find is that there are books that are good for id that don't tell you much about edibility, and books that cover edibles that aren't really designed to help you with id (they usually assume if you've got as far as eating something you should know for sure what you're looking at). Because of this I have yet to find a really definitive book and usually resort to cross referencing between the good id guides & the actual uses/recipe type works to suit my personal needs & interests.