Bushcraft in Bristol

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Jul 5, 2006
Bristol
Hey everyone, first time posting here! I'm relatively new to bushcraft, stayed out in the woods with my brother down by Falmouth (South coast of Cornwall), also walked on the Brecon Becons, and want to try it again some time on my own in Bristol.

I live in NE Bristol (Yate & Chipping Sodbury), and wanted to know where the best places to camp out during the night, preferable with a small fire are. I've done a search on this magnificent site and some people seem to mention Burrington Combe. Just wanted to know what that place is like and whether or not small fires are allowed. If anybody has been there, i'd like to hear their stories and perhaps some photos so I could get a feel of it before I go there.

Thanks for all your time,

Rob

odin13

Forager
May 29, 2005
bristol, england
another bristolian onboard!
i still havent managed to find an suitable overnighter spot, having said that i haven't really looked into it, i'd love to, just i tend to just go hiking/climbing, or just practise bushcraft skills in the forest, im 14, so my parents wont really let me go on my own, which makes it even harder lol
ALEX

leon-b

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 31, 2006
Who knows
im not from bristol but i know how you feel odin13, i am also 14 and my parents wont let me go to meets or camps on my own, it is really frustrating being 14 sometimes
leon

Jul 5, 2006
Bristol
I've emailed Rocks East and Marilyn has said that they do not allow fires in the wood however they allow it in designated areas on their site.

Just to clarify what i'm after, basically a wood, where you're allowed fires (or not, but is rarely enforced) and I would be totally alone.

Thanks,

Rob

den

Nomad
Jun 13, 2004
Bristol
Hi