Bush craft course help?!

Apr 15, 2009
I am not sure if I am posting this in the right place so apologies if incorrect.

My boyfriend will be 30 in June and he is really into bushcraft and I would love to buy him a course for his birthday. He is really into mushrooms, axes, building fires and shelters and would like to learn more about field butchery also.

I have done some research into courses in our area (East Sussex) and have come across two companies which seem good:
1. Wildside Survival School http://www.wildsidesurvival.co.uk
2. Bushcraft Expeditions http://www.bushcraftexpeditions.com

I was wondering if any of you have had experience good or bad with these companies or could recommend any other good courses as I have little experience with bushcraft.

Thanks for you help.
Rachael

combatblade1

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 1, 2007
"I won't have a Spydi"
Try woodsmoke, they are excellent and you will get a no nonsense approach to bushcraft. A bit of old and a bit of new, none of the become a cave man for a weekend like some courses.

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk
Rachael,

The only course I've been on is the Trueways Survival course (one of their weekend courses) and found it excellent value.

http://www.survival-school.org/

A bit more survival (shelters, wild food, naivigation etc.) than true bushcraft but certainly a good weekend.

No connection with company etc. etc. just a satisfied customer.

Cheers,

Broch

Kerne

Maker
Dec 16, 2007
Gloucestershire
A vote for Woodsmoke here - I did their one week course and was thoroughly impressed. Not local to you but in a great location in the Lake district - we didn't see any "outsiders" for 5 days and when we did it was a strange kind of experience...

Apr 15, 2009
Wow thank you so much for all of your help. I will look into the other companies mentioned and see which course looks best.

Rachael :)

combatblade1

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 1, 2007
"I won't have a Spydi"