buffalo horn - bit of advice needed

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

shaggystu

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 10, 2003
Derbyshire
as the title really, any advice about working buffalo horn?

i'm in the process of getting a few bits and bobs together to put a handle on a leuku that i've been making for.......well years i suppose, and i've been gifted a little piece of buffalo horn that i'm intending to use the bolster. i've got no experience at all of working buffalo horn other than the hour i spent squaring off the little piece that i've got. so, any tips? anything i should avoid doing to it? i tend to use boiled linseed oil on all my tools handles, is that suitable for horn? how precise a fit to i need to make it to the tang of my knife, will it stand a bit of hammering if it's a really tight fit or am i likely to split it? anything else really obvious that i've completely neglected to consider?

any and all thoughts are more than welcome

cheers

stuart

dwardo

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
Hate working the stuff but it makes real nice bow tips. Its tough old stuff so will take a beating. Just work it through the grades as you would a wood. Then finish with what ever you like takes most finishes well.

dwardo

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
Think of it having grain, yeah if you use something sharp and belt it you could possibly split it, think grain just like any wood.
Drilling filing and sandpaper all good and would have to go out of your way to cause any real damage with the previous.
I have some bits if you get stuck.

Oh and it stinks and gets right on your chest so mask it up ;)

Last edited:

shaggystu

Nov 10, 2003
Derbyshire