Bracket fungus tinder

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

falling rain

Native
Oct 17, 2003
Woodbury Devon
I found a nice bracket fungus growing on a birch tree today whilst out for a walk.
It's quite fresh looking and white.
Something I've never tried is using it for tinder. Can anyone tell me the process of drying etc. Do I cut it up into pieces and let it dry naturally, or stick it in the oven on a low heat? How long does it take to dry out and do I just use sparks on the dried pieces?
Any advice would be geatly appreciated as I've never used this method before.

Cheers in advance.

falling rain

Native
Oct 17, 2003
Woodbury Devon
Thanks for all the advice. I'll certainly be giving those ideas a go. :D............ Just kidding. I thought I'd read about using bracket fungus as tinder. No worries if no one knows. Knowing me I've probably got it wrong. :confused:

Cobweb

Native
Aug 30, 2007
South Shropshire
Don't quote me but I think you slice it into thin strips and place on newspaper or kitchen towel and then put it into the airing cupboard until it's dry.

ocean1975

Jan 10, 2009
rochester, kent
Birch polypore is what you have there by the sounds of things.I dried one out on the radiator last year and to be honest it wasn't that good as cramp balls or hoof fungus but it did hold a flame,i cut it into 10mm strips.You can also use it for a temporary plaster if you cut your finger!!! And you can also strop your knife with it hence it's other name razor strop fungus.

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!