blewitts

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Realgar

Nomad
Aug 12, 2004
W.midlands
Anything I can possibly confuse the field and wood blewitts with? are they a good fungus for drying? I'm 100% sure I've got the id right but it pays to be paranoid with fungi.

den

Nomad
Jun 13, 2004
Bristol
I say it was possible.
Before I knew what one looked like I found cortinarius purpurascens ,which I was sure was a wood blewit. :icon_frow

Go to town with the id make sure everything matches 100% and take a spore print.

I am not aware of anything that you could confuse wood blewits with that are really poisonous but hey I am no expert. Like you said it's good to be paranoid.

Realgar

Nomad
Aug 12, 2004
W.midlands
I find a lot of the cortinarius around as well, the rust red spores give it a way. It's said to be edible and I've eaten it before but it's toughish, has a strong earthy taste and is slightly gritty.

I've taken a spore print form the blewitt, the salmon pink spores clinch it - plus what am I going to do with all this microbiology equipment around and and spores from an easily cultivated delicious mushroom..........

B

bombadil

Cortinarius purpurescens is highly poisonous!!! :yikes: The toxin which makes it so is slow acting though, and it can take years to for any symptoms to develop, hence a lot of confusion with this species, although there are well documented cases of many people in France and elsewhere of having died from acute liver and renal failure as a result of eating this species, especially when it has been sold as wood blewits on market stalls etc. The spore print IS the clinch with Lepista nuda, it took me a while to figure that one out too, but don't be complacent about the other, it could cost you......