Beginners knife use - any tips?

Wallenstein

Settler
Feb 14, 2008
Warwickshire, UK
As a bushcraft newbie, I'm still getting up-to-speed on various aspects of woodcraft etc.

I've bought myself a SS Frosts Clipper, but I've not really put it to any use yet!

Are there certain basic skills I can practice in the back garden that will be generally useful around a campsite?

I've tried sharpening a stick to make a tent peg which was fun.

Any suggestions for 4-5 basic uses I could aim to learn over the next couple of months?

I thought maybe:

- feather sticks
- battoning (any good online guides around?)
- pot hanger

but I'm not really sure what punishment I can expect an SS Clipper to stand up to!

Any and all thoughts gratefully received :)

Hoodoo

Nov 17, 2003
Michigan, USA
My first thought is safety. You should always ask yourself, if you follow the cut of the blade along it's line of travel, where COULD it end up?

Don't carve in your lap unless you have a leather apron. Lean forward so if the blade slips or cuts clear through something, it doesn't cut an artery in your leg. That would be a quick path to a short life. And it happens.

There are ways to position your hands so that the blade will stop forward motion because a part of your hand or arm came to rest against something, such as the piece you are working on, or your chest if you are cutting towards you. This takes practice but becomes second nature once you've mastered it.

Scarce as hen's teeth but "Swedish Carving Techniques" by Wille Sundqvist provides some great info on safe and effective carving techniques. His son, Jogge, also has a video with good information as well.

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Good link Spam,
Wayland also did a knife safety thread which is worth a read. http://www.bushcraftuk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=22194&highlight=knife+safety

Wallenstein,