beginner multifuel stove advice

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Mike8472

Jul 28, 2009
west yorkshire
I am thinking about getting a multifuel/petrol type stove for using in the winter time when the temp gets too cold to use my msr pocket rocket.

what would be your advice for a simple and relatively cheap stove to buy. I have zero expirience with petrol stoves so servicing etc needs to be simple.

will be used on day hikes and over night camping so nothing too hefty.

what would be your recommendations?

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
I've been using a MSR Whisperlite for over ten years, admittedly it's had little use over the last few years but it's still going strong. I've only ever used unleaded in it too which the stovies will tell you is not recommended. The MSR's have what they call a shaker jet which is pretty much a self cleaning mechanism for the fuel line, so very little maintenance is required.

The only time I had to give it any attention was a couple of years ago in the French Alps, it was spluttering and not quite getting hot enough to give a strong blue flame. Five minutes with the Leatherman and a bit of kitchen roll and it was good as new.

They are at the higher end of the market but well worth the investment

johnboy

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 2, 2003
Hamilton NZ
www.facebook.com
I'd go for a Coleman Peak 1 / Exponent 442....

<br>[video=youtube;4x7jgVB1y48]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4x7jgVB1y48[/video]

My reasoning is as follows...

1. They are relatively cheap
2. They dont need priming as such definately not priming in a conventional sense.
3. They are really very good performers and the can simmer really very well.
4. They are quiet in use
5. Coleman support the product with spares...
6. Servicing is really easy.