backwoods cooking for cubs/beaver scouts

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

dinky_doo

Mar 15, 2009
preston,lancs
hi has any body got ome simple recipies for some backwoods cooking for my cub pack
we are planning on doing some cooking for the beavers and i have never done any thing like this before,any help would be greatful

Pignut

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 9, 2005
Lincolnshire
hi has any body got ome simple recipies for some backwoods cooking for my cub pack
we are planning on doing some cooking for the beavers and i have never done any thing like this before,any help would be greatful

Check my webpage thingy.... link at the bottom of this post (freewebs)

The foil cooking bit is what we do for our backwoods badges

If you need anymore info please pm me and will help any way i can

Yours in scouting

Dave

JimN

Forager
Feb 7, 2006
The Amber Valley
Funnily enough I'm helping out at a cubs backwoods cooking camping from this evening, I'll try and grab the list of activities. Isn't there an 'official' scouts suggested activities?

JohnC

Jun 28, 2005
Edinburgh
We did a bit last week, we got the bonfire going well in advance, used this as part of the firelighting experience of the weekend. then used tinfoil parcels for the fish, gutted in essentially the same way as Pignut's explaination.
This was a very popular demo and experience, supervision was required for the younger ones as over-enthusuiastic knife use was a danger.

Dampers on peeled sticks were another good activity. Making stands and rests for the stick to rest on was useful and allowed more knife use.

We also cooked eggs in shells, eggs in empty orange peel shell (tasting as you'd expect egg cooked in orange).