... avoid first time mistakes ??

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Sep 15, 2014
Lancashre
Hi all,
I'm new to wild camping but I've done "normal" camping for years. With having kids we've gotten soft with big tents and electric hookups. The kids are older now so I can start getting back to basics. I've had a refresher in basic fire techniques and knots (bowline, siberian hitch & taut line hitch)

I've got myself a DD Frontline hammock and a 3m x 2.4M tarp. I'll be trying out my setup during one of my normal family camping trips to get used to things and then an overnight trip in the woods near home ... so I plan to take small steps. I've already scoped out the site and have picked out a spot.

My kit for my first overnight will be...
Hammock & tarp
sleeping bag
4 x 5m paracord
1 x 10m paracord
1 x 10m thick paracord for ridge line
tent pegs
knife and fire steel
cotton balls soaked in vaseline
billy can & cup
bottled water
food to cook (steak, sausages)
food that doesn't rely on a successful fire! (jerky, fruit, chocolate)
teabags
torch and head torch
mozzie rep.

Have I missed anything obvious?

Last edited:

decorum

May 2, 2007
Warwickshire

How much water??? It's a kilo per litre plus the weight of the container, so you might try to go light ;) . A filter might be of use.

Soft toilet tissue and either a lighter or nappy sacks (because TP doesn't breakdown quickly in soil). Lots of things you can use in place of TP, but if nature knocks urgently at the door it's nice to not have to multi-task! ;)

Sep 15, 2014
Lancashre
GOOD CALL ON THE LOO ROLL !! I didn't think about the old ka-ka.

First aid kit is a good call, too.

Water will just be a couple of 500ml bottles. This will be my first trip and only 3 miles from home - I think I can tackle purifying water on future trips. Bite size steps.