Alcohol Burner

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Adrian

Forager
Aug 5, 2005
South East London
This might seem to be yet another free plug for Outdoorcode, but I swear I'm not on commission. I've been using a trangia for over 30 years now on both backpacking and vehicle mounted trips, and overall I do swear by it (and often at it). I've just got the stainless steel Tatonka alcohol burner from Andrew, and it's a beauty! Fits the trangia set like the original burner, but with a greater capacity - about a third as much again, and easier to clean. Again, delivery was fast - Andrew got it in on the Monday, and I had it first post on Tuesday. I got the flame control accessory, and it seems to work better than the old trangia one. Seems to be good kit, and good price too. :)

Kirruth

Forager
Apr 15, 2005
Reading
www.bayes.org.uk
Trangia's are jolly good things: though I prefer the smaller size and more compact fuel storage of a hexy stove, it must be said that stuff cooked on a trangia tastes nicer :)

leon-1

The main question is what was the cost.

I had tried getting one of these earlier in the year and to get one imported from abroad the cost was prohibitive. Tatonka sell them for very little, but will not sell to individuals, "only businesses" was the curt reply from them.

Adrian

Forager
Aug 5, 2005
South East London
The burner and additional flame control (for simmering) came to £10 incl p&p - but this might vary from day to day depending on the exchange rate. Best thing is to call Andrew and ask!

MagiKelly

Making memories since '67
Perfect timing. I was just about to buy a new burner as I wanted a clean one to use with the IMS. My current one still has lots of the dye in it.