advice on fires in the woodland

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Feb 25, 2013
bicester
Hello

I've have tried looking to find the answer but unable. I am completely new to this all. A little scenario say I went to my local woods for the day and I had a quick break so I pulled out a little gas cooker and made a coffee and fried some bacon for a sandwich. Would I get into trouble for that or is it ok to use them.

I have read that you need permission to make a fire when your visiting any woodland but does that include using a little gas cooker or would you still need permission for that as well.

Could any one recommend any good little cookers does not have to be just gas

Really appreciate your feed back on this one

spandit

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 6, 2011
East Sussex, UK
You could get into trouble but if you've gone to the precaution of setting it up away from anything flammable you should be able to talk your way out of it

jackcbr

Native
Sep 25, 2008
Gatwick, UK
www.pickleimages.co.uk
Take precautions so you don't set anything else alight. If your gas burner doesn't heat the ground you won't leave roots smouldering underground. Then ensure you leave no trace. If I found someone with a gas stove in my woodland, I'd be more annoyed they were trespassing than having a quick brew. So carry a spare mug and tea bag and offer a brew if you get caught.

woodspirits

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jul 24, 2009
West Midlands UK
www.facebook.com
hello CM and welcome to BCUK. :)

assuming you have the right to be where ever, it would be a stone faced custodian who denied you a brew on a gas ring! :D as for alternatives, they are as varied as the fuel they burn and only limited by your imagination. you wont get a definitive answer here, its common sense, trial and error and personal choice. :)