A Walk Back Home...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

zackerty

Nomad
Dec 16, 2004
Christchurch...New Zealand
This is a tread that I posted in British Blades a while back...
Hope it is useful to at least one person in the future...

First off, I would like to thank Andrew at Outdoor Code for sending me the Ritter Survival Kit…My existing mini kit will be replaced by this one, but with a few little additions.

Second,... Follow any advice given here at your own risk...

Having just received the Ritter Survival kit, I started to put my thoughts together about how a Kit like this would have made a difference to me when I was a soldier.
Soldiers and civilians have the same needs in surviving, but the former normally has the enemy to bump up the odds against a successful trip back home.
My military career was mostly in the South African Army, with a short stint in Rhodesia, when it was called by that name, but my Units and Places served in, will not be part of this thread…No names, no dates, no pics…
Allow for errors in my memory, remember, it is MY memory…
If you do not believe or accept what I have to say here, go to another thread…
I hope we can all learn something useful…

Danzo in BB, requested that I share some of my experiences and profile my background from way back then, in an attempt to assist the serving soldiers of today.
Part of my service was to travel far, sometimes by air, sometimes by vehicle, and most times by foot, and two week patrols were the norm.
The things I did, and the things I participated in, are history now, and I am the sum of all the things I have experienced…
It was another Time, another Place...

On one occasion, I had to separate from my buddies, and make my way back from the middle of Angola, to what is now called Namibia.