Why do so many people use a Tarp/Hammock setup instead of a normal Tent/Sleeping bag?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Jul 13, 2010
London
I'm new to the whole bushcraft thing and all I seem to hear about are tarps and hammocks and not very much on tents..

Why do so many people perfer hammocks?

Is it purely to do with the whole 'not sleeping on the floor' thing? If so it doesn't bother me, I've spent a few nights on a woodland ground next to a fire with nothing more then a top jumper and pair of jeans!

Graham_S

Squirrely!
Feb 27, 2005
Saudi Arabia
There are a few reasons Hammock/Tarp combos are popular.

1. You have a more adaptable living space.
2. It's very comfortable,
3. in some woodlands enough flat ground to pitch a tent is hard to come by,
4. you are more aware of your surroundings (I've watched otters playing while lying in my hammock)
5. it's lighter.
6. if the weather is bad/ground is wet, you don't create a quagmire at the entry point.
7. as you say, you're off the ground (handy when it's waterlogged).

How's that for going on with?
:D

Jul 13, 2010
London
There are a few reasons Hammock/Tarp combos are popular.

1. You have a more adaptable living space.
2. It's very comfortable,
3. in some woodlands enough flat ground to pitch a tent is hard to come by,
4. you are more aware of your surroundings (I've watched otters playing while lying in my hammock)
5. it's lighter.
6. if the weather is bad/ground is wet, you don't create a quagmire at the entry point.
7. as you say, you're off the ground (handy when it's waterlogged).

How's that for going on with?
:D

Fair enough. I couldn't really see myself wild camping in my local council forest with a tarp and hammock. I'd probably get robbed during the night by a mob of teenagers. They aren't the stealthiest set up.

Jul 13, 2010
London