USB Chargers. One lead to rule them all?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Wayland

Hárbarðr
As a photographer I have a variety of cameras, hard drives, batteries and other devices that may need charging on a long trip.

I can occasionally do this with a mains supply, sometimes I have access to a vehicle supply but if not I carry a couple of 8Ah Lithium Poly power packs which are the the most powerful I can carry on most airlines.

These deliver 12V DC which I use with adapters to convert down to voltages that can run the cameras directly or provide a USB socket supply that I can charge most of the other hardware from.

So far so good. Two chargers for the power packs (One mains, one vehicle) Three chargers for different camera batteries and a block adaptor that provides 4 USB type A charging sockets.

Then we get to the leads!

usb-connectors.jpg

I have already trimmed the mains cables down to save bulk and I try to use the right plugs for the region I'm travelling in to reduce the need for bulky converters but you still end up needing a bunch of leads to conect from the USB type A sockets to either USB Mini B, USB Micro B ( Types 2 and 3 ) or the widely used UC-E6 8 pin connector.

8pin_UC-E6_miniusb.jpg
UC-E6 type 8 pin connector.
gekjed1375095570523.jpg
USB 3

Added to these I also need propriatory connectors for my iPad and Sony Walkman which I cannot do much about.

I'm looking for clever ideas to reduce some of this spagetti. Some sort of multi cable or adaptors perhaps.

My GoogleFu isn't comming up with much so I thought I would ask if anyone here has tackled such a problem with success?

Alreetmiowdmuka

Apr 24, 2013
Bolton
Sorry too drift off subject but could I ask for a link too the power packs your using Weyland

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wayland

Hárbarðr