US canteen cup vs Crusader Cup

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

FarPoint

Jan 15, 2008
Toronto, Canada
Does anyone have any thoughts on the US canteen cup/canteen/cooker vs the NATO water bottle/crusader cup/cooker? The US version is slightly smaller at 500ml instead of the 750 or so for the Crusader. Both are stainless steel but the US version is so much cheaper.
Anyone have any preference or experience?
Many thanks
FarPoint

-Not all those who wander are lost-JRR Tolkien

Pict

Settler
Jan 2, 2005
Central Brazil
clearblogs.com
As an American I have no experience with the Crusader but I have been using the US canteen, cup, stove sleeve for eons with no complaints. It is a great piece of kit IMO. Personally I think the Crusader makes more sense, liter bottle, wide mouth, larger cup. That said, I have kept hydrated and fed with my US Army kit for a very long time and see no reason to spend money on something else. Aside from that my cup was made in 1965 like me. Mac

johnboy

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 2, 2003
Hamilton NZ
www.facebook.com
I've used both and an older 44 pattern and the teflon coated 85 pattern mugs.

The US mug is good I have the later version with the wire handles

DSCF0029.jpg

it's fine over a fire or on a stove of some discription. The SS is easy to scrub up clean.

Hope this helps

Last edited:
having uses a US one (from Canada :rolleyes:) for avery long time but rcently converted a couple of yrs ago to a crusader

i say they are both good and on a par

IF used with the bottle and rations its designed to

the US one is a pain with the Brit 58 bottle as its not big enough to fit all the way in and UK boil in the bags are really a bit to big to cook in the US mug tho you can do it if your careful