Newbie needs help

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Dave Barker

Nomad
Sep 15, 2003
Norway
www.brukskniver.net
Embarrasing as it is to say, I have no knowledge of bushcraft! :oops:

I live on the west coast of Norway and am 5 minutes from the sea and a forest area, There are most deffinately masses of resources here that could b tapped. I fish quite a lot, and got to thinking the other day about survival. It is not uncommon for boat motors to stop working etc, and If I were to land a\on a deserted island ( and belive me there are plenty of these around here) I probably wouldn't know what to do.

This is where you come in... I hope...

Is there a base pack that should follow on any trip, first aid kit goes automatically, but what else do I need and where do I learn what is good to eat. I have so many questions and think that there could be more that one post on this.... Anyone want to help.

Thanks

bigjackbrass

Nomad
Sep 1, 2003
Leeds
It sounds as though survival as well as bushcraft is your concern, and with that in mind I would recommend buying a copy of "Lofty" Wiseman's "SAS Survival Guide." Several editions are available, including a new one in a nice chunky paperback format and the excellent Gem pocket edition. You can probably profitably ignore any other book with "SAS" in the title, though.

This book has a list of recommended kit, sections on hazards and on edible and poisonous plants. As a single source I rank it as one of the very best. However, inevitably sections on things like wild food are bound to be rather general, making it very important to consult local sources for information. A library, school or bookshop near you will certainly be able to help with that.