my kit, any opinions? anything i should change or keep?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

RAPPLEBY2000

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 2, 2003
England
this is my kit that i have been colecting for around 7 years!
this isn't all of it but i've shown the fundamental parts:

Gerber Lock knife,
Dimond dust knife sharpener,
Firesteel flint,
LED Lenser torch,
Suunto mini compass,
Heliograph,
whistle,
compass use tip card,
silk escape map of UK/france
Turbo flame,
Matchless fire kit,
w/p matches,
sponopener(tin opener with a spoon shaped end
lexan desert spoon,
Wire saw,
brass wire,
purse net,
fishing kit,
2x 58 NATO water bottle,
Crusader metal mug
Milbank bag,
mess tin,
home made aide memoir,
waterproof notebook,
household matches,
First aid box
M.O.D. survival knife

US army poncho
US army poncho liner
British army basha
SAS hammock/stretcher

British army rucksack
Hydroram bivi bag
inner and outer buffalo sleeping bag system
thermarest

i have various ways of carrying it.

RAPPLEBY2000

Dec 2, 2003
England
the kit itself is a combination of:

raymears suggested items

survival kit army parts which are strong and trustworthy

i am slowly learning bushcraft,
and whilst i am the other kit keeps me safe and warm :-D

i can confidently light a fire from my flint each time! :roll:

Mikey P

Nov 22, 2003
Glasgow, Scotland
Wow! That's a lot of stuff - I assume you pick and choose what you need depending on where you are going? A good selection of strong and robust equipment, at first glance, that should last you for ages.

Buffalo sleeping systems are ace - even when wet -but can be a bit bulky. You might want to look at a lighter/smaller bag for use with a bivi bag in summer.