my first figure four deadfall with pics and trigger video

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

malente

Life member
Jan 14, 2007
Germany
After reading a thread on another forum about figure four deadfalls, and having seen them in various survival type shows, I wanted to have a go.

This is my first attempt ever at making one of these.

I know that trapping is illegal in many places. This is simply testing my skill to make one of these for survival situations. I would never use it otherwise. If you ever have to use them, check them regularly and dispatch any caught critters quick and humanly to minimise suffering.

Setting: in my garden, with three young kids around. Sorry for the not so bushcrafty setting :rolleyes:

As instructions I only googled "figure 4 deadfall" once and looked at one pictorial (this here).

As wood I took an old, dry peace of bamboo (I think) and as tool my Gerber Gator. The serrations on the knife came in handy to make the sawing type cuts easier.

1. Grab a stick
5012727240_ddd8b376e3.jpg

2. Grab a knife (not at the sharp end)
5012727442_0dc11d121d.jpg

3. Cut three pieces, short, medium, and long
5012727638_61f70de0eb.jpg

4. Now lay the pieces as a figure four on the ground and mark the spots where you will make the notches. Watch out for where the notches exactly are (on the side, front or back, and which side). (sorry no pic)

5. Grab the medium stick and cut a square notch at the marked position at the side and sharpen the top. The medium stick will be the vertical stick, with the pointy end pointing upwards.
5012124909_9a2972d455.jpg

6. Grab the short stick and sharpen one end to a point and make a v type groove near the other end. This will be the sloping stick, with the pointy end pointing downwards.
5012728100_a9ac092606.jpg