Looking for advice on where to go where fires are allowed

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Feb 13, 2004
Hi everyone I am new to this site and a UK user. AS many of you seem to be from the UK could anyone tell me of their bushcraft experience in the UK in particular where you can stay in wild country and litting a campfire for warmth, food and...telling campfire stories. Because I always heard that fires were not allowed or you had to ask permision for them (how do you ask permission and to whom?). I have some wilderness camping experience but not in the UK. Thanks for any information from the UK bushcraft experienced!

Raz

Nomad
Sep 3, 2003
all over
Fires are only allowed with the land owners permission.
So ask your local farmer!

Otherwise, fires are allowed at the beach, and at some camp sites. Sadly, fires aren't allowed in the "wild" (ie. National parks, trust sites, common and access land, etc.)

Tony

White bear (Admin)
Admin
Apr 16, 2003
Wales
www.bushcraftuk.com
Yep, wild camping it technically illegal without the landowners permission. IF you are interested in wild camping then your best bet would be to search for it on the web as there are a few sites that go into it.

Your best bet is to find a friendly land owner and ask very nicely if you can camp on their land. I have two small woodlands that I use that are owned by a farmer ( I knocked on his door after asking around) and a friend of mine. Some scout sites will sometimes allow non scouts to camp on their sites but the rules on fires is very strict.

I would advise you to avoid having fires unless you have gained the landowners permission. Asking around is the best thing to do. Maybe a call to your local bushcraft/survival school would be helpful for advice on where to start searching in your area.