I broke my mora

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Gcckoka

Settler
Nov 13, 2015
Georgia
As you read the title , I broke my mora :)
I am now curious if i grind some piece of the blade to make it as a small tang , will it be a good small carving knife ?
I have some handle wood and some epoxy to do it , but will the tang be enough ?

dc0266cdbbc1.jpg

Gcckoka

Settler
Nov 13, 2015
Georgia
I broke it because I am a noob and have no experience , I am really mad at myself
It was a rotten tree something which I could even brake with bare hands , so I pushed the knife in the crack and turned on the sides to split it , I really don't know why it broke it was nothing serious I then split it with bare hands :(

GGTBod

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Mar 28, 2014
The left over bit would make a great scraper for a ferro rod, i've found sometimes when my hands are really cold i could really do with a nice sized comfortable handle on the scraper, could easily drill a hole in the handle (avoiding the rat tail tang) and hang a ferro rod from it with a bit of paracord

Gcckoka

Settler
Nov 13, 2015
Georgia
The left over bit would make a great scraper for a ferro rod, i've found sometimes when my hands are really cold i could really do with a nice sized comfortable handle on the scraper, could easily drill a hole in the handle (avoiding the rat tail tang) and hang a ferro rod from it with a bit of paracord

Good Idea ! should I leave it like that ? or how should I grind it ? only tool I have is the electric hand saw.
I am going to start to shape the tang now , I will keep you updated

Klenchblaize

Nov 25, 2005
Greensand Ridge
Send it back with a nice letter stating there is no way the knife should have broken as such are endorsed by the Godfather of Bushcraft.

Gcckoka

Settler
Nov 13, 2015
Georgia