Hi there

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Nov 20, 2008
Cambridge, UK
Just thought I'd introduce myself here, despite having made a couple of posts around the site already. I've got lots of camping experience, but no bushcraft experience to speak of, so I'm hoping to be learning a lot over my next few trips out, and also do some Tarp/Bivi camping as opposed to always living in a tent!

I suppose a couple of tips that I have from camping experience that I can't remember seeing on the forums through my browsing so far are:

a) Always spend a decent amount of time getting a new bag set up. DO NOT cut off all the seemingly useless straps etc until you have used the thing once in wet and windy conditions. It's amazing how seemingly useless things suddenly become useful. Previous trips have seen me use a bit of gaffa tape to mark strap positions (on the shoulders etc) before I leave, and noticed a significant difference to my set up at the end of a trip - this may just be me setting the thing up wrong, but I tend to mark strap positions with a sharpy somewhere in the middle of these two points and tend to be quite happy with my rucksack like that.

b) another rucksack one... before leaving for yout trip always leave a bit of space, even accounting for food usage it's sometimes seems that even though it went in (in its nice dry, clean state) that a couple of days in the bag seems to have shrunk and you an't fit everything in

c) the last few binliners in a pack are rolled quite tightly, are reasonably lightl and are sodding useful.