help ! im new

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

1987_uk

hi im new to this but bushcraft looks really interesting so im askin u all 2 help me out. So cud u tel me wot equipent i need to start off with thanls alot people :-o

wayne

ditchfield

Nomad
Nov 1, 2003
Somerset
Welcome to the forums and welcome to the world of bushcraft. There is no definate kit list, it depends what sort of theing you want to do. As most of bushcraft activities are outside, you need to get some warm, sturdy clothing if you don't already have it. There are some items that have a cult following but are also expensive. Examples of these are swanni shirts and ventile jackets. These are not essential :wink:. The best thing is to start out with inexpensive gear and find out your preferences.

Probably the most important outdoor tool is the knife. You don't really want to start out with a folding knife or a huge thick blade. Again it best to start out with something inexpensive and see how you like it. A good starting point is a mora fixed blade that cost around £10.

So's not to break the bank, it is a good idea to spread out your purchases, looking round for the best deals. You don't have to get all your gear at once!

I'm now going to list some of the gear popular with people on these forums, although there is a lot more stuff out there.
The Berghaus Munro pack, the Karrimor Sabre series of rucksacks, the snugpak sleeka rocket pack, granfors axes, bahco laplander saws, swedish firesteels, aussie hootchies, lapp puukos, akubra hats, british army kit, billhooks, hennessy hammocks, nanok sleeping bags, ajungilak sleeping bags, rab sleeping bags, mora crooked and pull knifes and lots lots more. Have a look at some of the posts on the kit forum for more ideas.

Hope this helps

Raz

Nomad
Sep 3, 2003
all over
Hello, and welcome!