Greetings!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Batfink

Forager
Jul 18, 2004
Newbury, Berks, UK
www.alexpye.net
Hello all!

I like most noobies, have been lurking on the board for some time now, and finally took the decision to join up!

My background is quite diverse to say the least! I've spent several months working in Africa with Pygmies learning the ways of their world, and returned to the UK to try and apply their skills.

I've got a degree in Disaster Management (don't ask!), which was very much built around appropriate technology and coping with no resources.

In my spare time I teach with the Air Training Corps, and am heavily involved in aiding my in-laws building a low-energy, eco friendly house made of mud and straw, and my wife and I's Finnish Log Cabin. On top of all this I'm involved in running the-in-laws small holding, and am looking to make the transition towards organic-ness, sustainability and self-sufficency!!!

However, this is a long process, especially given that I spend 30% of my working week on a train going to London where I have a not very brilliant job as a Civil Servant!!!

So - thats me, in a few sentences!

Cheers all - maybe see you at the August meet up!

X

Adi007

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 3, 2003
Welcome Batfink! I hope you enjoy it here around the bushcraftUK virtual campfire!
:chill:

Batfink

Forager
Jul 18, 2004
Newbury, Berks, UK
www.alexpye.net
Absolumon my friend!

I spent time in South West Uganda/Rwanda/Democratic Republic of Congo. Basically we (wifey and I) were working with a local aid agency with VSO. We were helping the Pygmies (locally known as the Batwa) adjust to life outside of the forest... hang on rewind a bit...