Greetings from Manchester

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

The Ratcatcher

Apr 3, 2011
Manchester, UK
Hi, all.
I only found this introductions forum after I'd been on here a while, so I'm a little bit late introducing myself.

I'm Alan. I've been doing this stuff for too many years, but when I started, it wasn't called Bushcraft, it was called "too skint to buy proper kit". (I still use tin cans as cooking pots and stoves occasionally, just for old times sake.)

I'm the last Traditional Ratcatcher in Manchester, which means I use traps and snares on a daily basis. Handy if the food runs out!

I hope I meet some of you soon because even though I've been doing this for a very long time, there's always something new to learn.

Alan.

spandit

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 6, 2011
East Sussex, UK
Welcome, Alan. Have you tried the Nooski trap? I bought one but by then my resident rat had already died from the poison I'd put out whilst waiting for delivery

The Ratcatcher

Apr 3, 2011
Manchester, UK
Yes, I have two Nooski's for special jobs. They are the only rat-trap that's safe to use in places where there are toddlers, because they are finger-safe. They also have the advantage that you don't have to extract a squishy rat carcase from between powerful spring-loaded trap jaws. Keep hold of yours, because if you've had one rat, another may follow.

spandit

Jul 6, 2011
East Sussex, UK
Nice to hear a professional using one! I bought it as didn't want poison about with a toddler & dog roaming free. Even in a bait box - I've caught the dog with a dead rat in his mouth. I also wanted to see the evidence!

I remember my father telling me how he once called in a team of ratters to a pub cellar that was "alive with rats". They lost 2 dogs... :(

spandit

Jul 6, 2011
East Sussex, UK