Folding army cot bed....comments please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
I've been using the MkIII army cot for over 2 years now and the MkII version before that.

Well built and having the tensioning straps makes it very easy to set up compared to the MkII.

You could get away without insulation during the summer but put an exped synmat on it and you'll think you were in your own bed.

Reactions: Erbswurst

Robbi

Mar 1, 2009
northern ireland
:) yeah, I would say so :)

i'll have to dig out the Belgium airforce tent I have to make sure it fits....that would be a real bummer, buy it and then find out it won't fit your tent !!

Last edited:

IC_Rafe

Forager
Feb 15, 2016
EU
Not a fan of a cot of any kind for outdoors use. The thin layer of fabric offers no insulation. The sleeping bag you're lying on won't insulate the bottom either due to the compression. This just leads to needing to take a foam or air mat too to put on the cot if you're in any kind of chilly/cold weather. I find it more comfortable to just use an insulated air matress.

scarfell

Forager
Oct 4, 2016
south east
Bought one of those fishing recliner beds once, didn't make it thru one night lol nice and comfy to relax on, but couldn't sleep on it (wasn't flat enough, wide enough and creaked endlessly (am a wriggly sleeper lol)

Long time since I've seen an Aluminum tree complete with hinge fruit in the field mate but i'll keep looking :)

haha well wood can be as strong, with a bit of paracord (or pine roots if ur feeling adventurous), you could fashion a useable frame I'm sure

Last edited:

Nice65

Brilliant!
Apr 16, 2009
W.Sussex