Finland 2015 Photos

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Phaestos

Sep 8, 2012
Manchester
Yello,

Earlier this month I undertook my second expedition to the Kittila Municipality of Finland, camping just outside of the town of the same name. It was a year of testing kit and testing myself. This won't be an extended trip report per-say, but more a few things that I noticed and wanted to note down. Also, excuse the blurring of some pictures, particularly those of the night sky. I'm still learning photography and didn't realise I could only really get away with a 30 second shutter speed so as not to get the rotation of the night sky. Mine were mostly 40 second shots, and it galls the hell outta me that I did that. I won't be so afraid to bump up the ISO next time. I'd appreciate constructive criticism of the shots though, so I can get better.

After a fairly awful (but decidedly better than last year) 12 hours in Helsinki Airport, we finally arrived in Kittila. As is usually the case, our plane was loaded with skiers heading North to the Levi ski resort. Getting out toboggans ready out front brought a few wide eyes, but the few people that asked us what we were doing we're surprisingly impressed rather than judgemental. My favourite moment at these times is when you step off the plane. There's nothing quite like that cold air hitting your lungs, and the feeling that your body is revving up like an engine, getting the furnace going.

We'd met up with our Dutch brothers Remko and Lennart in Helsinki, and it had taken all of 30 seconds to realise we were all going to get on like a house on fire. These are guys who know what they're doing, can knuckle down, yet have the good humour to lighten moods and improve morale.

Happy Campers by Matthew Mutch, on Flickr

Let's Go! by Matthew Mutch, on Flickr