Few days in Co. Wicklow (V. pic heavy

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Baelfore

Life Member
Jan 22, 2013
Ireland
Hi all,

So, last week I had the chance to spend a few nights in Co. Wicklow. I always enjoy reading other members trip reports so thought I'd contribute. This is my first attempt at a trip report and I forgot to take picks at a few points so please bear with me…

I was staying on a lovely campsite called Hidden Valley in Rathdrum. This is a very family friendly park with a field for camping on one side of the Avenmore and camper/caravan sites on the other, but lucky I had the field side to myself! The staff are really friendly and I’ve been going back to this site on off for several years. I would definitely describe it as a bushcraft friendly camp site!

I arrived down on Monday morning just as the rain started, but managed to get set up without getting completely soaked, and I had brought down a good amount of dry seasoned wood, so it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience I spent a good chuck of the afternoon with the kindle, but the rain eased off in the evening and and I threw together my “throne” from an old tree cutting and my ground mat, and got the fire going. Had a few drinks and cooked my tea on the fire, pizza sambos-smokey bacon and sundried tomato sauce, ham, pepperoni and pineapple with mozzerrella and cheddar cheese.

The veiw from my set up on the the monday: rain!

My throne:

Dinner!

On the Tuesday, the weather was much nicer, sunny all day, with decent temperatures.