Doing bushcraft without a tractor and trailer

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

springer5

Mar 9, 2010
Carmarthen, Wales
Hi folks

I am very new to the whole subject of Bushcraft and I seem to be having what I'm guessing may be a common problem for us newbies.

Being the impulsive type, when I get into something I can't resist getting stuck in in a big way. So I bought myself some Ray Mears DVDs and have now read quite a few books on the subject, and surfed the web looking for more experienced advice on what kit is usually "needed" for Bushcraft (as opposed to just camping).

Here's what I 've got, based loosely on what a lot of the books/DVDs talk about using (without going into major details)...

- Rucksack (Karrimor Sabre 75 litre with PCLE pockets - total 100 Litre)
- Sleeping bag (Woodlore), tarp (Jacks R Better) and ground mat (thermarest)
- DD Travel Hammock
- Stove (Primus Omnifuel) with 600ml liquid fuel
- Gransfors Small Forest Axe (A bushcraft essential accoring to Raymondo)
- Small knife
- Map, compass, pocket GPS (my navigational skills are not that reliable yet !)
- Millbank bag, and steriliser
- Leatherman multitool
- Sharpening stone and axe file to keep my axe and knife sharp during (hopefully) intensive use on all that dead wood I'm hoping to find.
- Zebra Billy can packed with spork, fire steel, washing-up sponge
- 2 litres of water in a dromedary bag (about a day's worth)
- 1 change of socks, underwear, long-sleeve shirt
- 1 Fleece for those cold nights
- 1 lightweight waterproof coat (Rohan)
- 1 pr waterproof overtrousers for our great british weather
- Simple first-aid kit
- toothbrush & lightweight shaving kit
- Trowel for the necessaries (leave no trace and all that)
- Woolly hat and gloves

Food for 5 day trip...

5 evening meals...

- (mix of boil in bag rice and noodles)