Cookware options?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

The Infamous Grouse

Tenderfoot
Apr 15, 2014
West Sussex
Hi all! Apologies if this has already been covered.

Essentially; If there was one piece of cookware you could not do without, what would it be??

I pack light and I'm just getting into camping. I'm looking to get a titanium camp mug to do everything with as a cooking/eating/drinking vessel. Any advice or experiences that'll show up the folly of my ways or steer me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance for any comments:)

Spaniel man

Native
Apr 28, 2007
Somerset
I wouldn't be without my MSR Titan kettle, had it for years and it ticks all the boxes for me. I've got other ti pots, but this is the one I always grab.
There's tons of reviews of just about all makes and sizes of pot, so just decide what capacity and shape you want, and get one. Ti gear isn't THAT amazing, so don't be blinded by advertising blurb. It has it's disadvantages as well. Sometimes aluminium is just as strong/light etc, and is nicer to use. One thing to watch for if you decide to go for Ti, the cheaper stuff like Alpkit, Tibetan, Toakes et all (they all seem to be made in the same chinese factory!) are made of a different (cheaper) type of Ti than MSR, Evernew and Snowpeak etc. It's darker and not as polished, soot seems to stick to it more, and it's not as nice to drink out of. Also the lids don't fit as well..

Last edited:

The Infamous Grouse

Tenderfoot
Apr 15, 2014
West Sussex
Thanks for that, that MSR does look handy; I was also looking at an MSR cooking pot, but the titan looks better. Thanks for the advice on the titanium, I was looking at a Vargo; but after what you've said, I think I'll keep looking at alternative options. Cheers mate!

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales