Chain saw

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

persistent king

Settler
May 23, 2010
wigan
Was chatting to my mate tonight (mentalnurse) and mentioned I was thinking about getting a chain saw to cut wood for my log burner as logs are getting more expensive to buy and harder to get hold of. He advised me to get some advice from people who use them like Maddave etc before I jump into it as I've never used one before.
are they easy to use? Would you recommended a petrol or electric one ? Is there a Cretan one easier to use etc Or would you advise not getting one at all if you are using it for just cutting fire wood , I haven't a clue to be honest , any advice would be appreciated.

ozzy1977

Jan 10, 2006
Henley
If you don't have a clue then a chainsaw isn't really for you, get trained and ppe then get a saw

dwardo

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
There are some cracking manual saws on the market like the big silkies and even just a fresh bacho blade in a good size bow saw.
I am biased as they are noisy orrible dangerous things but a necessary evil if you are doing wood in serious bulk. If you can stick to manual then it saves having to don boots, goggles, helmet, chainsaw pants and jacket every time you want to cut wood.

TheWoodsman

Nov 1, 2013
Essex/Suffolk Border
I would say petrol just for the fact they have a lot more oomf and i have never enjoyed using the electric ones, as for ease of use its just personal preference i prefer stihl up in a tree and husqvarna on the ground. Hitachi make a relativley cheap easy to use hobby style top handle saw which ive used on more that one occasion and anything up to a medium sized thigh it copes with fine.

ozzy1977

Jan 10, 2006
Henley
Not wearing protective trousers when using a chain saw is simply stupid, is saving £50 worth loosing your life??