BONSAI AND BUSHCRAFT

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

bushwacker bob

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 22, 2003
STRANGEUS PLACEUS
does anyone grow bonsai trees? if not you should. I have been cultivating bonsai for about 25 years and realised the value of experiencing the growth patterns, habits likes and dislikes of most native british trees.it has taught me in precise detail what order the leaves appear and fall and how to identify most species by either bud,leaf or bark.in short I have a mixed woodland in my small garden and regularly learn from it. They also look good and make people think im artistic and/or green fingered! :idea:

TAHAWK

Nomad
Jan 9, 2004
Ohio, U.S.A.
Samurai warriors cutivated bonsai out of a love of art and nature. It is an excellent learning tool and source or relaxation. It helps one keep his/her mind off the mindless louts who are also part of the environment. :!:

TAHAWK

Nomad
Jan 9, 2004
Ohio, U.S.A.
Roving Rich said:
Do you trim the roots ? or just keep the foliage and new growth in check?
Never tried it, just curios :-D
rich

Depends on the species. Some, like our Larch, are so sensitive to root prunning that ever larger pots seem the only answer. Some members of our club have, after years, ended up with 1 meter tall 100 kilo monsters shifted about only by collective effort.

Elms for example get 1/3 of root ball removed each year in our climate and thrive on it.

(Some of the most useful books on Bonsai are by British authors: e.g. Harry Tomlinson; Colin Lewis; Dan Barton).

Roving Rich

Oct 13, 2003
Nr Reading
Wow elm trees, we had them once. Their roots are continuous from tree to tree, so they communicate between themselves. Sadly this also helped the spread of the disease which wiped em out :-(