any sky technicians (info needed)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Gill

Jun 29, 2004
SCOTLAND
i was,nt sure where to put this query, my apologies if it is in the wrong place. i had sky plus in my living room and got upgraded today to HD ,so i have a sky plus box full with ,all my outdoorsy stuff recorded.the question ,can i use this old box in my bedroom and how do i do it.would it work with one of those magic eyes from B&Q.or do i need to run a cable.

stooboy

Settler
Apr 30, 2008
Fife, Scotland
Im no expert but,

The little box that sits out from your sky dish is called an LMB you get single, dual and quad ones, for sky+ you need a minimum of a dual lmb one line for the channel your watching and one for the channel thats recorded, i think, that the skyHD comes down the same cable, not sure i dont have it.

We have sky+ and i got the sky guy to put in a quad lmb with the view to "maybes" getting a second sky+, I ran cable from one of the spare unused LMB sockets to the old sky box and can watch free sky stuff (where i live there is no digital freeview reception).

Hope that helps a little.

you can get wireless tv transponders that will spit the output (non hd i think) from b&q etc, so that you can watch the same as whats on the main skyHD box, and the tv remote signals will be broadcast back from the box in your bedroom or wherever to the main box, but it means both TV will be showing the same so your wife canny watch corrie while your watching ray, you wont need your old sky box for this.

Like i said im no expert but have played around a little, id see if you have a quad lmb or not first. and how many cables are coming out of it.

Stoo.

Barn Owl

Old Age Punk
Apr 10, 2007
Ayrshire
I think the recorded stuff should play ok as it's just like a player on its own.