A Beginner's Tale of Flint Knapping: Any Interest?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Stringmaker

Native
Sep 6, 2010
UK
I am about to embark upon a journey of pain, frustration, possible blood and the odd profanity.

To be honest that has applied to all the traditional skills I've dabbled with, but in this specific case I'm talking about the art of making stone tools. I have been reading various sources and looking at as many examples in local (and national) collections as I can, and now is the time to put hammer to thumb.

I can't promise how regularly I will post but if folks would like to share my pain then I plan to report as I go (with pictures of the various bruises and puncture wounds), from the perspective of a complete beginner.

It is kind of an indulgence, a bit like my pump drill story, but people seemed to be interested in that so I hope I won't waste too many electrons with my observations and conclusions.

Watch this space..............ouch!

Blaidd

Nomad
Jun 23, 2013
UK
Yes, we like to see blood. Apart from that I'd be very interested in hearing about your experience. :)

Albus Culter

Maker
Jan 14, 2013
West Yorkshire
Yep. Want to see this. I've tried and been rubbish at it. So need to try a lot more. As such seeing your progress and the things you make would be great inspiration.

Stringmaker

Native
Sep 6, 2010
UK
Yep. Want to see this. I've tried and been rubbish at it. So need to try a lot more. As such seeing your progress and the things you make would be great inspiration.

Thank you for the generous assumption that I will progress!

I have worked with Will Lord; I am not fit to sweep up his debitage...

Big Stu 12

Bushcrafter through and through
Jan 7, 2012
Ipswich
THis will be good to watch.. I lookforward to it just one of the skills I would like to aquire :)

Haggis

Nomad