The Ultimate "What is this Fungi?" thread.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Mar 15, 2011
on the heather
Hey Roe Ring, Super images Bro.
As Geoff Dann said very common round here @ NE Scotland.
Angel’s Wings, Pleurocybella porrigens

Found this one on a resent walk round Keith Moray growing on a pine tree stump.
After reading a report on Recent Poisonings from Edible Mushrooms! Japan 2004,I would not encourage any one to eat this mushroom due to posable Renal Failure and further complications brain lesions not very nice.

Last edited:
Mar 15, 2011
on the heather
Found a fungi on the Great Glen Way the other day.
Violet webcap Cortinarius violaceus
I’ve been picking mushrooms for over 10 years now and I've only ever seen one of these,me and my pal were just blown away by this one, I will post an image some time but what a stunner of a mushroom just an amazing colour,to pretty to even pick.

Last edited:

Geoff Dann

Native
Sep 15, 2010
Sussex
www.geoffdann.co.uk
Found a fungi on the Great Glen Way the other day.
Violet webcap Cortinarius violaceus
I’ve been picking mushrooms for over 10 years now and I've only ever seen one of these,me and my pal were just blown away by this one, I will post an image some time but what a stunner of a mushroom just an amazing colour,to pretty to even pick.

I've seen a few this year. Yes, beautiful. You can also eat it, although it tastes a bit weird.

Look out for Cortinarius sanguineus if you've never seen that one. It's as deep and vibrant a red as violaceus is purple, and just as beautiful. Smaller, though. Pictures of both species do not do justice to the real thing.

listenclear

Nomad
Aug 19, 2008
East lothian
Oh, those angel wings scare me a bit. Hopefully they don't look as much like oysters in the flesh...
What do they smell like - if it's possible to describe