Tanning rabbit pelts for mittens

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Evening all,

I'm in the process of preserving about 8 rabbit pelts to make a pair of nice warm mittens for the winter. This is my first time, so I've read up a tonne of stuff, and much of it seemed to contradict other stuff, so I'm trying to find what works for me, then stick with it!

I tanned them in strong tea for three days, then thoroughly washed them in fresh water and soaked them in salt water overnight. Then I squeezed them out and generously salted them for a day (and overnight), before scraping off most of the salt, washing them in fresh water two more times, then hanging them out to dry.

I've noticed that they still smell like a wet dog... Am I doing anything wrong, or is that what my new attire will always be like? Must admit, I had hoped they would smell more like a nice new suite with fur on, but being a first-timer, I guess that would have been a bit hopeful.

Any wisdom and advice?

Cheers folks,

Rich

nuggets

Native
Jan 31, 2010
england
Have not done any thing like this for years !! We used to too stretch them on a board and use salt peter to dry the skins out , Scraping them daily of any fatty deposits and re salting to draw out all the moisture -after they are dry as card board we used glyserine ? sp to re hydrate the skin back to soft !!

might be a bit tricky getting them ingredients from the local chemist these days thou !!!! :rolleyes:

palmnut

Forager
Aug 1, 2006
N51° W002°
Petre (Potassium nitrate) can easily be bought as fertiliser for planted fishtanks. Sources include the 'Bay and places like Charterhouse Aquatics or AquaEssentials.

Peter

joe o

Feb 14, 2011
Wiltshire
Hi Rich,