Common Puffballs: have I struck gold, or just picked a bunch of toxic fungi?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

s'étonner

Forager
Aug 19, 2010
Leicester, UK
Hey guys :)

I went out picking mushrooms today, and found what I believe to be a bunch of common puffballs. They were found under pine in some local woods (I live in the East Midlands).

I was wondering if anyone here could help me to positively ID them, as I don't want to be poisoned!

Here's some photos. Thanks for reading!

IMG_0913.jpg

IMG_0914.jpg

IMG_0927.jpg

IMG_0929-1.jpg

dwardo

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
Only a beginner here but they dont look liek puffballs to me, not the right colour or texture outside, wrong stalk, wrong location.
I guess if i liked eating mushrooms i would learn a little more lol, i am sure someone else will be along with a pos ID but i wouldnt eat em.

s'étonner

Forager
Aug 19, 2010
Leicester, UK
Thanks for the advice. I've picked and eaten giant puffballs before, and they have a smoother texture with basically no stalk, and are as the name suggests, bigger than these! I have only found those in fields. These are new to me though so would surprise me if they're not the right type!

Kepis

Jul 17, 2005
Sussex
for gawds sake please be 101% sure they are the Common Puffball, although the pics you posted appear to confirm this is the Common Puffball, it is impossible to 101% id a fungi over the internet, im not a Mycologist by any means and i dont want to be responsible for someone harming themselves because of what they read on a forum.

I always work to the age old adage of

"If In Doubt, Leave It Out"

mountainm

Jan 12, 2011
Selby
www.mikemountain.co.uk