MEtal for fold flat firebox

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Winston

Jun 5, 2010
Preston
Hi everyone,

I’m looking at going motorcycle touring in Scotland later this year with my good lady. I want to make a fold flat firebox, based on nimblewill's Nomad.

I have mocked it up and am happy, but I’m confused with the thickness to use. I’ve never worked with sheet metal before. What’s the best thickness to use in terms of mm's and gauge...

Any help greatly appreciated.

durulz

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 9, 2008
Elsewhere
I used 0.8mm stainless steel for my nimblewill stove.
Cutting stainless is a right swine - it was one of those jobs I wished I hadn't started, but was really pleased I had once completed. The nimblewill stove is not only one of the best pieces of kit I have, it is made even better by the fact that I made it myself. I made mine slightly wider than the plans provided.
Cutting mild steel is easier, but it will rust quickly, especially after firing. Stainless won't.
I got a good sized sheet of stainless steel from a local sheet metal worker - it was an off cut and they let me have it for nothing.
If you don't have the tools for cutting stainless then you will have to buy them, at which point it may be just as cheap and easy to buy a Honey Stove.
Anyway, the simple answer to your question is to use thin (0.6-0.8mm) stainless steel. Don't be tempted to use mild steel - you'll regret it in the long term.

craven

Forager
Jan 13, 2008
devon