Raised Beds

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

johnnytheboy

Native
Aug 21, 2007
Falkirk
jokesblogspot.blogspot.com
Hi There,

I'm gonna put in some raised beds in the garden, i have new sleepers ready for the purpose.

Just a quicky, but whats best to fill them with, should i use just soil from the garden or get manure and compost??

Just gonna grow some vegies, toms, alliums etc

Is there any need for me to be ph testing my soil

(sorry total newbie question)

Thanks again

John

RobertRogers

Need to contact Admin...
Dec 12, 2006
USA
I'd mix manure and/or compost with garden soil. The soil will help to further break down the manure and compost.

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
As RR said, mix the manure in with the garden soil but I'd include some sharp sand to assist in the drainage.

Also make sure you dig over the soil that will be at the bottom of the beds to break it up and assist drainage

johnnytheboy

Native
Aug 21, 2007
Falkirk
IMG_2903.jpg

IMG_2902.jpg

Not much in the way of before pictures, here is the sleepers i bought, and the space where it is going, its partly a a way of saving money on how much stones i need, i plan to put the raised bed right on top of the lanscape fabric.

silvergirl

Nomad
Jan 25, 2006
Angus,Scotland
I presume the landscape fabric is to stop weeds coming through?

The problem with that is you lose almost all the advantage of having a raised bed (ie deeper soil and free draining.

I'd lose the fabric along the base. dig it down the sides to prevent weeds and dig over the ground underneath before you put in soil/compost and manure.

Good Luck

johnnytheboy

Native
Aug 21, 2007
Falkirk