First trip out in the new canoe

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Took a sneaky trip up to Loch Lomond on Sunday to give my new boat it's maiden voyage.
Put in at Aldochlay and set off round the south end of Inchtavannach, as I came round the corner into the big water things got a bit scary with big 4ft swells breaking and gusts almost tipping me out. Hence the reason I've no photos of the trip out.

Camp for the night. You can see how strong the wind was pressing against my tarp. It even snapped one of my placcy tents pegs I've been using since I was about 12 years old.
DSC00890.jpg

DSC00891.jpg

View from my hammock
DSC00892.jpg

DSC00893.jpg

DSC00894.jpg

DSC00896.jpg

By about 4 o'clock the wind had dropped completely so I went back out for a play again.
DSC00897.jpg

DSC00898.jpg

DSC00899.jpg

As the light dropped I got a text message to say a few guys from SOTP were on their way round.
DSC00900.jpg

DSC00901.jpg

DSC00902.jpg

DSC00903.jpg

We had company for the whole night with this little guy sitting within arms reach of us munching on Stu's mediterranean tomato biscuits.
DSC00905.jpg

scrogger

Native
Sep 16, 2008
east yorkshire
Looks like a good trip Rich did you get my pm ref my chuffin client!!!!!

Sounds like I would have had fun paddling the old sevvy against winds and swell like that.

Still it looked great and I was gutted to miss the trip ill be up for the next one for def.

Andy

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Looks like a good trip Rich did you get my pm ref my chuffin client!!!!!

Andy

LOL

Yeah I did mate, I hope you give him a hard time when you see him.

We'd have probably taken the easier route round the north end if you'd come, saying that my Sevy did okay in the wind considering.

andybysea

Oct 15, 2008
South east Scotland.