First steps in Birchbark

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
Well - it ain't no canoe!
Having been given some nice Finnish birchbark by Redkite (thanks Stewart!) I started playing....
My first Birchbark basket.
It ain't as easy as it looks - what with splitting out and cracking of the bark - but despite some issues I got a reasonably functional item out of my first try - 6.5" x 5" birchbark and natural cordage
PA180001.JPG PA180005.JPG
I plan some more trys tomorrow, building on my experience! :)

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014
McBride, BC
That finished up very well. What's the source of the cordage fiber?
I can imagine dozens of such baskets for winter storage of foraged materials.

SaraR

Mar 25, 2017
Ceredigion
Having been given some nice Finnish birchbark by Redkite (thanks Stewart!) I started playing....
It ain't as easy as it looks - what with splitting out and cracking of the bark - but despite some issues I got a reasonably functional item out of my first try - 6.5" x 5" birchbark and natural cordage
View attachment 55713 View attachment 55714
Nice looking!
Normally you soak the birch bark to make it more pliable (it will still have a tendency to split) and you thin it out a bit by removing the outermost layers. That way you don't get all the dry white fluff.

Reactions: Janne

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
Well - I have had another play....
I still had a few issues with splits happening but - and I am not knocking the gift or making excuses - as the bark is far from fresh, has multiple woodworm holes and lots of lenicles and pre existing splits - I do not think the results are too bad.