Planning Norwegian Ski Trip (with 6 year old)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Paul_B

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 14, 2008
Cumbria
It seems to be that this forum has people from around the world with a wide range of backgrounds and experience. It seems to me that out of all this knowledge and experience I'm sure I'll get good advice and recommendations.

In the end of December we're planning on a winter activity trip for two adults and our 6 year old, active son. We're looking for something memorable. My partner knows how to ski but hasn't got years but my son and I have no experience at all. We fully intend to ski, dog sled trips or anything like that. Skiing for me would be downhill and x country.

So assume a paid upfront holiday not an independent one. Assume flights to Oslo then train or possibly bus / coach to resort. Where is a good place to go in just one week's visit? What's got the most fun for a family who'll he together the whole trip. This is a family together trip.

Also, skiing. Learn at ski centres over here before we leave it once there? I think there's ones near Manchester and Leeds that would be convenient for us to go to.

Kit? What should we get? Ski specific kit or just layer up with good outdoor kit you might use in Scotland in winter? Aldi ski clothing for kids age adult or pay more.

My partner is convinced our son will be good at skiing and will love it so possibly an annual activity.

What's available to do other than the styles of skiing at Norwegian ski resorts?

Also, what about light? I assume ski goggles or glasses are needed? Which are best for adults and children? We have wrap round sunglasses for our son but would they be any good? I wear prescription glasses so assume there's goggles that work over glasses?

How cold is Norway straight after Xmas normally?