Begginers Stuck

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Ashley English

Jul 24, 2018
Kent
Hi,

A Few days ago I got a recommended video pop up on my youtube. It was a man doing an overnight camp with his dog in Canada, I clicked on it and before I knew it had watched the entire video lasting just over 1 hour. I was hooked and have watched many hours since. So my Question is ... How do I start ? what do I need to know? I'm from Kent so I wondered if there were any good shops or people or places around etc. I'm completely new to this I've barely camped at all but have always been interested in this kind of idea of being off the grid camping back to basics style.

Sorry if the relavent info is avalible somwhere ive not spotted it ! and I apolagise in advance for grammer and spelling mistakes! I'm rather dyslexic!

Thanks
Ashley

crosslandkelly

A somewhat settled
Jun 9, 2009
North West London
Hi Ashley, welcome and enjoy.
A good place to start would be to get in touch with the Kent group. https://bushcraftuk.com/community/index.php?forums/england-south-east.59/
As for kit, start cheap and upgrade as you get to know more.
Some folk like millitary surplus, cheap, robust and fit for purpose, but heavy. Some like modern lighweight kit.
A small tent, sleep mat, sleeping bag, gas stove, canteen set, water carrier and a rucksack will get you started.
Get out there and enjoy yourself.

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
Hello and welcome.

I moved your first post to the Intro and Welcome forum since it seemed a good place for you to start. You will find plenty of dyslexic folk here too...there seems to be something about bushcraft that attracts the square pegs. :D