Sloes before hoes! Or a question about sloe gathering

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Folcwigga

Forager
Aug 11, 2009
London
So i was out last week and came across a number of bushes with berries on them, the berries were black with some light blue shadowy shades on a lot of them. After a little bit of research at home i'm fairly sure they're sloes, and there are some possibilities with sloes. In one of Mears books he explains how to make some type of cakes/flapjacks out of them which he says are a good staple food, and they're also good for making gin apparently. My question is is it too late to harvest them? The ones i saw were beginning to look fairly wrinkled, and i'm a novice at this stuff so i don't know if that's a deal breaker for using them or not?

Nomad64

Nov 21, 2015
UK
Saw the best crop l’d ever seen on the dual carriageway going past Waitrose in Basingstoke last week - the bushes were absolutely heaving with them.

Be careful the thorns are evil things, they go in deep and break off leaving wounds that fester and make finger joints swell up - before antibiotics Is was not uncommon for farmers and hedge-layers to die from infections.

Reactions: WealdenWoodsman

WealdenWoodsman

Forager
Oct 10, 2017
place
Saw the best crop l’d ever seen on the dual carriageway going past Waitrose in Basingstoke last week - the bushes were absolutely heaving with them.

Be careful the thorns are evil things, they go in deep and break off leaving wounds that fester and make finger joints swell up - before antibiotics Is was not uncommon for farmers and hedge-layers to die from infections.

The old boy that taught me hedge laying was very strict on using proper, thick leather gloves for that very reason. Even today people still get very ill from the infections caused.

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales