What does this measurement mean

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Patd

Jun 29, 2017
Kent
Hi I can't for the life of me figure out what this second measurement is for on these axe handles. I presume it's eye size but I just want to check before I order (I'm new to all this alright?).
Cheers,
Pat
d9ba4b52f863cd503cd30dd9410a7ace.jpg

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
I have no idea - unless it is the size of the face (length of the cutting edge) ... for example the GFB SFA has a 19" handle and a 3 1/4" face... the values seem right...

Patd

Jun 29, 2017
Kent
Yeah it's a pain I've got a bit of nice white ash laying around the shed I'll see if I can't make something out of that

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

bikething

May 31, 2005
West Devon, Edge of Dartymoor!
Is it just a badly formatted way of writing the size as length of handle x width of eye (long axis of oval)

So...

Thirty inch by two and a half inch
Thirty six inch by two and three quarter inch
Thirty six inch by three inch
Thirty six inch by three and a half inch

etc. ?

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
Is UK not Metric yet?

The old system is so illogical, that nobody knows off hand how many Inches goes into a Yard, how many Inches (or Yards) into a Mile.....

:)

I certainly know those things, and many of my aquaintance do as well. I can perfectly well visualise, accurately, dimensions in either imperial or metric or a mixture of both. It's been a constant source of wonder to me that so many folk have problems with it all; I think it's a mindset thing.

The old system was never illogical, just different, same as our old monetary system. One of those wonderfully quirky things about being a native of these blessed islands!

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014