Hammock help/advice ?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Dippa

Mar 10, 2016
Birmingham
I've never used a hammock before but I've been looking to invest in one.

What's the best one to go for out of the DD frontline or the DD superlight ?
Weight is extremely important to me but I'm willing to sacrifice some weight if it's beneficial.

What's the best setup to have, under blanket or a mat ?

Any help and advice appreciated

SaraR

Mar 25, 2017
Ceredigion
My DH has a DD Frontline and I like it. Consider DD frontline but with whoopie slings. The frontline suspension is dead simple (think massive shoe laces) but also quite heavy.
An underquilt is much nicer, smaller (if you can afford down) and warmer, but for starting out or if you want the option of being able to go to ground a thermarest or closed cell foam mat are good alternatives. You'll need a top quilt and a tarp too. I suggest a light sleeping bag and just have it open almost to the foot end, leaving a foot box. If you need a bug net I think the superlight needs a separate one. The superlight system does look very compact though.

sunndog

May 23, 2014
derbyshire
Speak to scotty at BespokeUltralight if weight is important he's deffo your man

He did my ulyralight hammock set up and i couldn't be happier

hughtrimble

Jan 23, 2012
UK/France
I've never used a hammock before but I've been looking to invest in one.

What's the best one to go for out of the DD frontline or the DD superlight ?
Weight is extremely important to me but I'm willing to sacrifice some weight if it's beneficial.

What's the best setup to have, under blanket or a mat ?

Any help and advice appreciated