Svante dvarj axe advice wanted

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Feb 17, 2012
Surbiton, Surrey
Hi all, I am in the market for a new carving axe and have my eye on the svante djarv little Viking axe.
Now I have a couple of their carving knives which are great but have no experience with their axes and hoping someone here can share their thoughts.

I have been using the gb Swedish carving axe for several years and love it for larger work but am looking for something lighter.
Ideally something with a largish blade and of the bearded style and happy to consider other recommendations.

I have gb axes coming out of my ears in the form of an sfa, wildlife hatchet and kubben/hand hatchet and though I love them all I would like a bigger blade more suited to be a dedicated carver.

Hope that makes sense, so what does everyone think?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Pockets

Jun 19, 2014
United Kingdom
I have a Robin Wood Axe and its a great carving axe for lighter work. Very nicely balanced and not to heavy at all. Sorry I cant comment on Svante Djarvs axe.

Feb 17, 2012
Surbiton, Surrey
I have a Robin Wood Axe and its a great carving axe for lighter work. Very nicely balanced and not to heavy at all. Sorry I cant comment on Svante Djarvs axe.

Thanks pockets, I ha e looked at the Robin Wood axe and know they are very well thought of.
It probably sounds quite petty but I am looking for something a little more bespoke both in looks and, hopefully, versatility with a fairly large curve to the blade.

An also looking at the hans karlson axe but again have no experience with it.

Marmite

Life Member
Feb 20, 2012
Gloucestershire