Straight razor first shave: OWW!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
My wife doesn't like me with a beard these days, no matter how fashionable they are. And I don't cut such a dash as you do with yours, Mr Fenna, sad to say. Ho hum, I'll keep on shaving for now.
I love the idea of me being "fashionable":lmao:
I studied fashion design as a "mature" (that cracks my wife up every time!) student ... it was only to learn pattern cutting and I only ever designed gear for outdoor clothing companies such as Craghoppers ... but the staff ridiculed my efforts until I got a Distinction for my final collection - the brief was for "Resort wear" and I chose to do gear for a "Mountain Resort" ... in Ventile :)
I guess I must be a trendsetter with the beard as the last time I had a clean shaven chin was 42 years ago!
This was not a fashion choice either but just that my bristles defied razors and at 16 I had to shave twice a day to stay looking tidy .. and I am far too lazy for that!
Good luck with the straight razors - that is "Man-shaving" ... my wife uses disposable safety razors....

R-Tron 3108

Tenderfoot
Sep 4, 2014
Nottinghamshire
ive used Mach 3s for years.
I get months out of each blade cartridge. I think the blades must hone on my leathery skin so they last ages.
I can't remember the last time i cut my skin shaving.
Well my face anyhow!

Rocker, Walker, Camper, Husband, Dad

Wacker

Sep 4, 2015
East Yorkshire
jandude, If you're bleeding after a shave and don't have a styptic pencil wash your face with cold water not hot. The blood vessels will close up and the blood will move away from the surface of your skin. I swear by a cold rinse after I shave! Been using a straight razor for ages and it gets so much better you just have to stick with it mate...