What kit do you recommend I need to start leatherworking?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

cwillson

Forager
Jul 14, 2007
Cotswolds
Hey peeps,

I've long wanted to try my hand at some leatherwork, and would love to make a sheath for my Fallkniven F1 and (soon to buy) Silky Gomboy. I've no experience in this, but am pretty good with my hands, so just need to know what basic tools I'm likely to need to put my hands on, and any other advice anyone has, i.e. good places to buy them, where to buy leather, and what type of leather/fixtures I'll be needing too.

Muchos grassies and all that! :)

Chris

bob_the_baker

May 22, 2012
Swansea
Bare minimum would be a sharp blade, bradawl, thick thread and a stout needle (readily available on evilbay, quite often sold together). That was what I used for my first axe mask and the 3mm veg tan leather was also from the popular auction site.
Cardboard and sellotape help with prototyping
I have found that gluing the pieces together before stitching makes things less fiddly in the absence of a stitching clamp.
Since starting I have invested in pricking irons and a stitch groover, which both make the job a lot neater, I also found sewing through the pricked holes easier than the ones made with a bradawl. If you want to fit studs and poppers then you need to invest in a hole puncher (DO NOT BUY A CHEAP ONE definitely false economy), or individual punches

tombear

On a new journey
Jul 9, 2004
Rossendale, Lancashire