Defender 90?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

BillyBlade

Settler
Jul 27, 2011
Lanarkshire
I'm a time served mechanic, I did so at a general repair garage. However, where I worked, we had a lot of landies come through the doors as it is a country area.

I'm not going to slate them, but all I'll say is this, if you buy one, be good with a spanner and be willing to give up one weekend in four for at least a pair of hours looking over it.

As for the stuff the MOD disposes of now, well, I spent 12 years in the military and the way land rovers were driven/treated during my time was appauling. No mechanical sympathy whatsoever, because if it breaks, well, who cares. It's not your pocket that takes the hit fixing it. One example - home made cruise control i.e. leaving it in a lower gear and using a cut off broomshaft to keep the accelerator to the floor and bouncing it off the limiter to keep it at sensible speeds. Mental, aye, but young lads that are beasted tired and have to be somewhere late at night, well, who cares? Just steer the thing.

I've also seen them overloaded to the point of damn near cracking the suspension mountng points. Thrown down terrain they were never designed for just for sh*ts and giggles. If it gets stuck, get a tracked to recover it. Never mind the bust suspension etc doing it. All good fun. If it's NOT your truck.

So, go into it with your eyes open. In life, 'cheap' tends to be 'cheap' for a reason.

Good luck.

garethw

Settler
Hi there
I went down this road, as I said in the post above, and like the look of the Landy.. but by experience (of others) I went for a Jap 4x4 and got a Nissan Terrano 2.